Go Back   RCTLounge Community Forums > Theme Park Games > RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 > Other RCT3 Discussion > RCT3 for Mac OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2010, 06:58 PM
Doug's Avatar
Doug Doug is offline
I own the place.
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Somewhere in South Dakota
Posts: 3,343
Default RCT3: Platinum Released for Mac!

This discussion correlates with this post on our blog.

What do you think of this? I think this is a huge sign that RCT3 is here to stay, and that the game is not dying off at all. I can't wait to see if we here at RCTLounge will get more Mac-based players. I'm getting an iMac here soon, and I can't wait to play the game on it. Playing RCT3 on the iMac's gorgeous screen is going to be awesome.
-Doug
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-21-2010, 11:00 AM
FlowJo's Avatar
FlowJo FlowJo is offline
"Awesome"
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,627
I'm getting a MacBook Pro for Christmas. I was not sure if I was going to get a Mac or a PC, but this really seals the deal! RCT3 was one of the reasons I was not going to get a Mac, so this is great news!
West Ham > Everton/Liverpool
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-21-2010, 11:36 AM
Ice101's Avatar
Ice101 Ice101 is offline
Member
Former Team Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,563
This is awesome!

I was just searching for RCT3 Platinum for Mac earlier this week but quickly realized it wasn't available. I really am excited to play it for the Mac. I wonder how quickly custom content will be adapted for Macs.
Always Fresh, Never Frozen
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-22-2010, 11:37 PM
brianwells brianwells is offline
New Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice101 View Post
I wonder how quickly custom content will be adapted for Macs.
I have been able to use custom content on the Mac version of RCT3+Soaked after I installed the data content from the Windows version of RCT3 Platinium as described here. Having the full release of RCT3 Platinum for Mac means that this unsupported hack will be needed and that numerous bugs in RCT3 Soaked for Mac will have been fixed. It should then function just like the Windows version of RCT3 Platinum. So you should be able to use any and all custom content with the Mac version!

The big problem is that some custom content is trapped in archive formats that are not friendly to Mac users. These include self-extracting EXE files that will only run on Windows computers and RAR archives. I've had success extracting files from these archive formats with the following utilities.

UnRarX
Zipeg
Keka

The only custom content I have not been able to extract so far is the NetOn expansion set since this appears to be an actual installer for Windows. With more Mac users coming along, perhaps custom content developers will start using friendlier archive formats like ZIP.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-23-2010, 01:43 AM
MojoJojo's Avatar
MojoJojo MojoJojo is offline
I've got an golden ticket
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,615
I have a mac, might get the platinum version. But yeah that's right you can unpack everything with zipeg. (like me) Except Neton
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-23-2010, 02:03 AM
alanm4072's Avatar
alanm4072 alanm4072 is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 450
actually i am a mac user and i would say it is really easy it to insert cs into it if you know how to do it lol

btw here is a link to get rct3 platinum for mac of amazon
http://www.amazon.com/RollerCoaster-...9992294&sr=8-3
2013 theme park trips

Blackpool Pleasure Beach trips x45
Thorpe Park x3
LightWater Valley x1
Alton Towers x3

Last edited by alanm4072; 11-23-2010 at 02:32 AM..
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-25-2010, 03:39 PM
-Shadow- -Shadow- is offline
BADUM-TSH
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,163
^^aww... i'd make a zip for you if i had permission from all developers...
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-29-2010, 03:07 AM
leigh103 leigh103 is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Hey peeps,

I've been using RCT on my 2010 iMac. I've got Soaked and Wild installed already, but it'd be really good to see some bug fixes in this release.

I've seen Platinum for £24.99 (about $35) but I'm not keen on forking out if it's what I've already got - anyone know if the performance is better?

I'm a n00b here anyways - hi everybody!!
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-01-2010, 05:36 PM
leigh103 leigh103 is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Ok, I've took the plunge and purchased it, purely out of curiosity of possible performance tweaks.

I can't find much info anywhere online from actual users, so when I get it, I'll post here what it's like.

Showing as 'awaiting stock' at the minute, so might be a week or so.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-27-2010, 01:55 PM
Amplifyed's Avatar
Amplifyed Amplifyed is offline
Back?
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 337
Ugh, really? Why did they release this now?

There's no reason for me to buy it... I've already bought Platinum for Windows, which I operate on my mac using Bootcamp. I wish they would've released this before I did that, because now I don't want to have to spend another $30-40 bucks for a game just so I can play it on my primary desktop.

It's kinda funny, though. I emailed Aspyr about if they'd ever release something like RCT Wild! for mac, and they told me it would never happen... But it did. Just a year too late, unfortunately. :/
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 03-05-2011, 08:54 PM
Trax's Avatar
Trax Trax is offline
Your local redstoner!
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Home.
Posts: 2,987
Default Thnx

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanm4072 View Post
actually i am a mac user and i would say it is really easy it to insert cs into it if you know how to do it lol

btw here is a link to get rct3 platinum for mac of amazon
http://www.amazon.com/RollerCoaster-...9992294&sr=8-3
Hey man thnx for giving this link, i am really gonna purchase it, even though i can buy the windows version and extract it with parallels...
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 03-11-2011, 10:00 AM
Trax's Avatar
Trax Trax is offline
Your local redstoner!
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Home.
Posts: 2,987
Yeahhhhh i finally have PLATINUM!!!!!!! I am very glad thank so much!!!!


F*ck this the reflective water sucks...

Last edited by Trax; 03-11-2011 at 12:03 PM..
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 04-13-2011, 05:41 PM
salsaontop's Avatar
salsaontop salsaontop is offline
They told me I was gullible... I believed them.
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dubai
Posts: 498
I have a mac, yet I've had platinum for the past 3 years as I had parallel desktops meaning as well as the mac interface one click of the button and I had windows! Thank god for parallels.
RED BULL RB10 & S. VETTEL FOR 2014 F1 TITLE
~Quote~ Brawly
"The only reason they're so bright is because he rapes the bloom option"
^Just a classic guy
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 04-13-2011, 05:46 PM
TheDestructR's Avatar
TheDestructR TheDestructR is offline
......................:O
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Not here anymore
Posts: 830
^Bump, much? personally I hate parallels. Bootcamp is better.
I'm done with RCT3, but I'll try and visit every so often!
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 04-15-2011, 10:10 AM
salsaontop's Avatar
salsaontop salsaontop is offline
They told me I was gullible... I believed them.
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dubai
Posts: 498
^Do they have bootcamp in the UK. Bump? Nah only 36 days old and the topic at the top of the discussions.
RED BULL RB10 & S. VETTEL FOR 2014 F1 TITLE
~Quote~ Brawly
"The only reason they're so bright is because he rapes the bloom option"
^Just a classic guy
Reply With Quote


  #16  
Old 04-15-2011, 10:15 AM
TheDestructR's Avatar
TheDestructR TheDestructR is offline
......................:O
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Not here anymore
Posts: 830
^yeah they have bootcamp in the uk
I'm done with RCT3, but I'll try and visit every so often!
Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RCT3 Platinum for Mac - Trees not showing up Ice101 Help/Support 3 10-17-2011 02:11 PM
RCT3 Platinum In Game Music Error and Patch Problems jerm4512 Other RCT3 Discussion 0 06-30-2011 11:19 PM
RCT3 Platinum GingaNinja Other RCT3 Discussion 3 06-13-2011 08:05 AM
rct3 PLATINUM carleton6 Member Introductions 2 08-14-2009 05:19 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.